North West School of Paediatrics

 

 

Welcome to the North West
School of Paediatrics

Introduction

Contacts

Where we provide training

ARCPs

Important dates

HEE North West Links

 

   Exclamation mark

Coronavirus (COVID 19)

Information can be found by clicking here

 

 

 

 Introduction:

 

The Deanery School of Paediatrics aims to provide a comprehensive high-quality teaching and education programme for those interested in training in paediatrics. Training in paediatrics in this deanery follows a syllabus set by The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) and takes account of national guidance by the General Medical Council.

 

The School of Paediatrics also provides strategic leadership for the recruitment of trainees to paediatric specialties. It arranges for the recruitment and induction of trainees from the Foundation Programmes into Specialty Training posts and arranges for the allocation of trainees to run-through rotations in Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 that are appropriate for their training needs.

 

The School of Paediatrics also oversees the quality of Paediatric training posts in conjunction with the RCPCH tutors, the Postgraduate Clinical Tutors and Directors of Medical Education.

The School of Paediatrics also:

  • Oversees the Higher Specialty Training (Level 3) schemes in general paediatricand the various paediatric specialties within and ensures that there are educational opportunities to meet the standards required by the RCPCH.
  • Ensures the provision of appropriate courses for examination preparation, the acquisition of essential competencies and general professional development.
  •  
  • Gives guidance about the appropriateness of courses to trainees in paediatrics at their various stages of development.
  • Assesses the progress of trainees, maintains appraisal systems for trainees and supervises their summative assessments.
  •  
  • Ensures adequate provision of career advice supported by up-to-date information on career opportunities.
  •  
  • Ensures that there is provision for potential progression into an academic career and for flexible training

 

The RCPCH runs examinations, organises courses and conferences, issues guidance on clinical and other issues relating to the welfare of children. It also has a major role in setting and maintaining professional standards. It was founded in 1996 but traces its origins back to the British Paediatric Association, founded in 1928, which acted as a focus for professional activity in the field of paediatrics prior to the formation of the College.

 

 Contacts:

Role

Area

Name

Email

Associate Postgraduate Dean for Paediatrics

Joint

Dr Aruna Hodgson

Aruna.Hodgson@hee.nhs.uk

Head of School

Joint

Dr Colin Morgan

colin.morgan@lwh.nhs.uk

Associate Head of School, National Grid and Careers Lead

Joint

Dr Ruth Gottstein

Ruth.gottstein@cmft.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST1 – 3

Mersey

Dr Nasim Mahmood

nasim.mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST4 – 8

Mersey

Dr Ian Kilroy

i.kilroy@nhs.net

Training Programme Director – ST1 – 3/Regional Lead

Manchester

Dr Sunil Bagewadi

Sunil.Bagewadi@nca.nhs.uk

Training Programme Director – ST4 – 8

Manchester

Dr Guy Makin

Guy.Makin@mft.nhs.uk

Regional Lead

Mersey

Dr Rosaline Garr

rgarr@doctors.org.uk; rosaline.garr@nhs.net;

Regional Lead - deputy

Manchester

Dr Imran Zamir

Imran.zamir@mft.nhs.uk

Regional Lead – Academic

Mersey

Professor Calum Semple

M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk

Trainee Representative – LTFT

Mersey

Dr Violet Swain

nwltftrep@gmail.com

Trainee Representative – LTFT

Manchester

Dr Anna-Louise Power

nwltftrep@gmail.com

Trainee Representative

Mersey

Dr Thomas Leyland

Thomas.leyland1@nhs.net

Trainee Representative - ED and I

Mersey

Dr Kahled Hadi

khaledhadi_27@hotmail.com

Trainee Representative - ED and I

Manchester

Dr Maria Hadjicosta

mariaediman@yahoo.com

Trainee Representative - RCPCH

Manchester

Dr Shaun Lane

shaunlane@doctors.org.uk

Trainee Representative/Trainee Education Committee and Step Programme Lead

Mersey

Dr Peter Fielding

fielding.peter2@gmail.com

Trainee Representative – sub-specialty

Manchester

Dr Anna McNamara

annamcnamara@doctors.org.uk

SuppoRTT Champion and RCPCH LTFT Lead

Mersey

Dr Fulya Mehta

Fulya.Mehta@alderhey.nhs.uk

SuppoRTT Champion

Manchester

Dr Ranganna Ranganath

Ranganath.Ranganna@mft.nhs.uk

Stepping Up Champion

Mersey

Dr Helen Dallow

h.dallow@nhs.net

Stepping Up Champion

Manchester

Dr Merijam Kikic

Merijam.Kikic@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey

Mersey

Dr Kamran Mahmood

Kamran.Mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey (deputy)

Mersey

Dr Shirley Mulvaney

Shirley.Mulvaney@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Alder Hey (deputy)

Mersey

Dr Maw Tan

Maw.Tan@alderhey.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Arrowe Park -  Acute Paeds

Mersey

Dr Eleanor Derwas

ederwas@nhs.net

College Tutor - Arrowe Park – (deputy) – Neonates

Mersey

Dr Sarah Thompson

sarah.thompson49@nhs.net

College Tutor - Countess of Chester

Mersey

Dr Alison Timmis

alison.timmis@nhs.net

College Tutor - Leighton

Mersey

Dr Simon Burns

Simon.Burns@mcht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Liverpool Womens

Mersey

Dr Bala Palanisami

Balamurugan.Palanisami@lwh.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Macclesfield

Mersey

Dr Shailendra Rajput

shailendra.rajput@nhs.net

College Tutor - Southport

Mersey

Dr Sudhakar Kandasamy

sudhakar.kandasamy@nhs.net

College Tutor – Warrington

Mersey

Dr Aarti Sridharan

aarti.sridharan@nhs.net 

College Tutor - Whiston

Mersey

Dr Swathi Upadrasta

Swathi.Upadrasta2@sthk.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Wrexham & Glan Clwyd

Mersey

Dr Matthew Sandman

Matthew.Sandman@wales.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Blackburn

Manchester

Dr Ana Del-Rio

Ana.DelRio@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Blackpool

Manchester

Dr Wing Tang

wing.tang1@nhs.net

College Tutor - Bolton

Manchester

Dr Fiona Watson

Fiona.Watson@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bolton neonates

Manchester

Dr Affi-Anne Anosike

Affi-Anne.Anosike@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bolton, General

Manchester

Dr Thomas Webster

thomas.webster@boltonft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Bury Community

Manchester

Dr Bratai Bose-Haider

Bratati.bosehaider@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Lancaster

Manchester

Dr Clare Peckham

Clare.Peckham@mbht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Neonates, Burnley

Manchester

Dr Raji Seethamraju

rajasri.seethamraju@elht.nhs.uk

College Tutor - NMGH - Paeds and Neonates

Manchester

Dr Kashif Iqbal

MuhammadKashif.Iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - North Manchester

Manchester

Dr Muhammad Iqbal

muhammadkashif.iqbal@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Oldham – Gen Paeds

Manchester

Dr Jill Mant

Jill.Mant@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor – Oldham – Gen Paeds

Manchester

Dr Michael Perkin

Michael.Perkin@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Oldham (Neo Grid) 

Manchester

Dr Khalid Ben Rahuma

Khalid.Benrahuma@pat.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Preston

Manchester

Dr Santa Masila

Santa.Masila@LTHTR.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Preston (Paediatrics)

Manchester

Dr Samriddhi Padhye

Samriddhi.BharadwajPadhye@LTHTR.nhs.uk

College Tutor - RMCH ST1-3

Manchester

Dr Danielle Pask

Danielle.Pask@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - RMCH ST4-8

Manchester

Dr Eleanor Balmer

eleanor.balmer@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Salford

Manchester

Dr Adila Afzal

adila.afzal@srft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - SMH Neonates

Manchester

Dr Kristin Tanney

kristin.tanney@mft.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Stockport

Manchester

Dr Elizabeth Shackley

Elizabeth.Shackley@stockport.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Tameside

Manchester

Dr Kelly Whitfield

kelly.whitfield@tgh.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Wigan

Manchester

Dr Ruth Anderson

Ruth.Anderson@wwl.nhs.uk;

(sec: gill.haynes@wwl.nhs.uk)

College Tutor deputy – Wigan

Manchester

Dr Sarah Hough

Sarah.Hough@wwl.nhs.uk

College Tutor - Wythenshawe

Manchester

Dr Kuldip Bakaya

kuldip.bakaya@mft.nhs.uk

Trainee Representative – deputy

Manchester

Dr Alice Willson

alice.willson@doctors.org.uk

Community Child Health Training Lead

Manchester

Dr Lizzie Wareing

elizabeth.wareing@mft.nhs.uk

Community Lead

Manchester

Dr Rebecca Shopland

Rebecca.Shopland@mcht.nhs.uk

Lead Employer – St Helens & Knowsley NHS Trust

Joint

 

Lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk

Lead Employer - website

Joint

 

www.sharedservices.sthk.nhs.uk

Lead Employer - Payroll

Joint

 

leademployerpayroll@sthk.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator

Mersey

Mrs Jennie Tomley

Jennifer.Tomley@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Administrator

Manchester

Mrs Michele Turner-Holmes

michele.turner-holmes@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Co-Ordinator

Joint

Mrs Caron Owens

caron.owens@hee.nhs.uk

Programme Support Manager

Joint

Ms Emma Woods

Emma.woods@hee.nhs.uk

 

 

Where we provide training:

For area map of locations click here:  Map

 The Cheshire and Mersey rotation includes the following trusts:

 

  • Alder Hey Children’s Hospital 
  • Arrowe Park Hospital 
  • Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Glan Clwyd Hospital 
  • Liverpool Women’s Hospital 
  • Macclesfield Hospital 
  • Mid-Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Ormskirk Hospital 
  • Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 
  • Whiston Hospital 
  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital 

 

The Greater Manchester and Lancashire rotation includes the following trusts:

 

  • Blackpool Victoria Hospital
  • Burnley General Hospital
  • Longsight Health Centre
  • North Manchester General Hospital
  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary
  • Royal Blackburn Hospital
  • Royal Bolton Hospital
  • Royal Lancaster Infirmary
  • Royal Manchester Children's Hospital
  • Royal Oldham Hospital
  • Royal Preston Hospital
  • St Mary's Hospital
  • Stepping Hill Hospital
  • Tameside General Hospital
  • Wythenshawe Hospital

 

ARCPs:

 * Please note the ARCP terminology has changed: 

Panel A is now known as an ASSESSMENT PANEL 

Panel B is now known as a FEEDBACK PANEL 

 

ARCP dates:  

Assessment Panels 

January & July   

Feedback Panels 

February & August 

 

Your administrator will email you with your ARCP date and the required documentation you need to complete.  You will also be able to find your future ARCP date within your previous ARCP on Kaizen.

 

Virtual ARCPs for Summer 2022

Mersey and Manchester trainees

ARCPs for Summer 22 will be conducted virtually using Microsoft Teams on the dates below:
Assessmet Panels:
  • Will be carried out across several dates between Tuesday 12th July 22 and Wednesday 3rd August 22 (We do not provide trainees with the exact date of their ARCP, due to a high level of movement within panels. This can continue to take place throughout the ARCP period).
 
Feedback panels: (please bear in mind that you may be invited to attend a virtual panel on one of these dates)
  • Thursday 4th August 22
  • Thursday 18th August 22
 
Eportfolio Completion Deadline
Panels members will review eportfolios remotely, during the 2 weeks prior to the first ARCP date. Therefore, all trainees must ensure that all evidence required, is uploaded no later than  Tuesday 28th June 22 .
* Please note that your Educational Supervisor report MUST be completed and uploaded by the deadline above.
On the day of ARCP, panel members will share their findings with the rest of the panel and reach a decision.  You will recieve an email following your ARCP with your outcome.
Acceleration of Training at ARCP
If you wish to accelerate your training you must contact your Training Programme Director prior to the ARCP and copy in paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk
In general as training is now competency based, there is a degree of flexibility around CCT dates.
To successfully gain your CCT you would need to ensure:
  • ALL Level 3 competencies should be completed & evidenced in your e-portfolio (please refer to the ARCP checklist for general competencies).
  • Your Educational Supervisor (+/- clinical supervisor) reports must clearly support completion of level 3 competencies & CCT.
  • Your portfolio must reflect leadership & management competencies.
  • All items in your PDP should be addressed & completed.
  • START assessment must be completed, with reflection on any areas of feedback with actions. Ideally we like a minimum of 6m post start to deal with any development issues.
  • There is a minimum time period of 24 months WTE for level 3 training.
If you have a minimum of 24 months, & have all your competencies evidenced, then you would be eligible for CCT.
 

Evidence required for the ARCP

For further information regarding your ARCP during the Covid 19 pandemic, please refer to the ARCP guidance on the Royal College of paediatrics and Child Health website:  Link

1) Form R/Self-Declaration Form:

PLEASE NOTE: The COVID Declaration Form (part of the Combined Form R and Covid declaration form) does not need completing if there have been no COVID related issues during your training, since your last ARCP. However, please remember to sign and date your Form R at the end of the last page of the form (section 7). 

For Summer 22 ARCPs we will be using an online Form R and Self Declaration.  

The combined online Form R and Self Declaration form must now be completed by clicking the following link: https://healtheducationyh.onlinesurveys.ac.uk/paeds-summer-2022   (This link will not be live or available to access this until Tuesday 7th June 22.)
 
Form R and Self Declaration must be completed and uploaded to your Eportfolio between Tuesday 7th June and no later than Tuesday 14th June. 
Please note: If there are any changes to these forms or any significant events occur between the date of your submission and your ARCP, please inform your administrator via paediatrics.nw@hee.nhs.uk, complete a new Form via the above link and upload an updated version to your Eportfolio.
2) CCT calculator:
 

Please refer to the RCPCH guidance on how to complete and download your CCT Calculator.

The CCT calculator must be uploaded to your Eportfolio by Tuesday 28th June 22 along with the rest of your documentation.

You are no longer required to email a copy of your CCT Calculator.  The panel and your administrator will access this via your Eportfolio.

3) Decision Aids:

 

Trainee MUST ensure they carefully read requirements for ARCP and upload all required evidence by the required dates noted within your ARCP invite email. You shoudl also take a copy of this document to your Educational Superviosr meeting as a point of reference.

Decision Aid Level 1 link

Decision Aid Level 2 link

Decision Aid Level 3 link

 

 

PLEASE NOTE:

Changes to the Educational Supervisor role wef September 2019.  See link: Educational Supervisor role

 

Guidance for the ARCP

Managing the eportfolio for ARCP:

 

To assist the ARCP process we require trainees to manage their eportfolios in an accessible format. The following link offers guidance on where to store your ARCP evidence.

Managing training posts on eportfolio:

 

The following offers guidance on how to enter your training posts on eportfolio.

Further links:

 

 

 

 

 

Important Dates:

ARCPs

Will be carried out across several dates between Tuesday 12th July 22 and Wednesday 3rd August 22

Mersey and Manchester joint Assessment Panel dates

 

  • Thursday 4th August 22
  • Thursday 18th August 22
Mersey and Manchester joint Feedback Panel date

School Board

May 22 - Exact date TBC

Paediatric School Board

Via: Microsoft Teams

Time: 

 

STEP Teaching

2022

Contact for STEP Teaching: Lindsay Brunt, Medical Education Facilitator:  Lindsay Brunt 

Pg-education@alderhey.nhs.uk

( 0151 252 5106 (Internal Ext. 2106)    

Link:STEP teaching dates

 

Neonatal Neurology Education Session

TBC

Neonatal Neurology Education Session – Tuesday 20.7.21

Link

 

Return to Training Programme course

 TBC

Places can be booked by contacting: suppoRTT@lthtr.nhs.uk

with details of name, programme (Specialty/Foundation) and year of training

Link: SuppoRTT course

 

HEE North West Links: 

Careers advice

 
Lead Employer   

Conditions of Joining a Specialty Training Programme

Form R: For Summer 22 the combined online Form R and Self Declaration form must now be completed by clicking the following link: Link to follow  (This link will not be live or available to access this until Tuesday 7th June 22.)

Trainee guide - Greater Manchester and Lancashire

HEE Privacy notice

Inter-Deanery Transfer Policy

Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Training

Medical Leadership Training

Out of Programme (OOP) information

Note: for OOPR/OOPT you will also be required to complete this RCPCH form.

For OOPR submit to M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk for approval

For OOPT  for Mersey - submit to R. Garr, Regional Lead: rgarr@doctors.org.uk; rosaline.garr@nhs.net  

For OOPT  for Manchester - submit to N. Panwar, Regional Lead: Nitin.panwar@mft.nhs.uk

Acting up is approved for 3 months, if you require 6 months you must include an appropriate reason for the additional time and the benefits.  This will need approval from the Postgraduate Dean.  This will be requested by the Associate Dean on submission of the OOP to the Administration Team.

Paediatric Return to Training (RTT) course for Paediatric Trainees:  Link to poster
Paediatric SuppoRTT information and FAQs:  link

Policies & Procedures

Revalidation/email: revalidation.nw@hee.nhs.uk

Study leave/email: studyleave.nw@hee.nhs.uk

SupportRTT – Return to Training Programme

Training Support Network

Greater Manchester and Lancashire Trainee Website -   Greater Manchester and Lancashire – go-to teaching website

 

Cheshire and Merseyside Trainee Website - https://www.mc.nwpaediatrics.com/