North West School of Paediatrics

 

Welcome to Paediatrics

 

Introduction

The Deanery School of Paediatrics aims to provide a comprehensive high quality teaching and education programme for those interested in training in paediatrics. Training in paediatrics in this deanery follows a syllabus set by The Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) and takes account of national guidance by the General Medical Council.

 

The School of Paediatrics also provides strategic leadership for the recruitment of trainees to paediatric specialties. It arranges for the recruitment and induction of trainees from the Foundation Programmes into Specialty Training posts and arranges for the allocation of trainees to run-through rotations in Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3 that are appropriate for their training needs.

 

The School of Paediatrics also oversees the quality of Paediatric training posts in in conjunction with the RCPCH tutors, the Postgraduate Clinical Tutors and Directors of Medical Education.

 

The School of Paediatrics also:

  • oversees the Higher Specialty Training (Level 3) schemes in general paediatrics and the various paediatric specialties in and ensures that there are educational opportunities to meet the standards required by the RCPCH.
  • ensures the provision of appropriate courses for examination preparation, the acquisition of essential competencies and general professional development.
  • gives guidance about the appropriateness of courses to trainees in paediatrics at their various stages of development.
  • assesses the progress of trainees, maintains appraisal systems for trainees and supervises their summative assessments.
  • ensures adequate provision of career advice supported by up-to-date information on career opportunities.
  • ensures that there is provision for potential progression into an academic career and for flexible training.

 

The RCPCH runs examinations, organises courses and conferences, issues guidance on clinical and other issues relating to the welfare of children. It also has a major role in setting and maintaining professional standards. It was founded in 1996 but traces its origins back to the British Paediatric Association, founded in 1928, which acted as a focus for professional activity in the field of paediatrics prior to the formation of the College.

 

Contacts

Colin Morgan Head of School colin.morgan@lwh.nhs.uk
Simon Carley Associate Dean simon.carley@hee.nhs.uk
Calum Semple Academic Regional Adviser M.G.Semple@liverpool.ac.uk
Emma Woods Programme Support Manager emma.woods@hee.nhs.uk
Caron Owens Programme Support Co-ordinator caron.owens@hee.nhs.uk

 

Cheshire and Mersey

Ian Kilroy TPD ST4 – 8 I.Kilroy@nhs.net
Nasim Mahmood TPD ST1 – 3 nasim.mahmood@alderhey.nhs.uk
Ignatius Losa Regional Lead ignatius.losa@nhs.net
Rosaline Garr Regional Lead, Deputy rgarr@doctors.org.uk
Gill Massey Lead Employer Gill.Massey@sthk.nhs.uk
Jennie Mcateer Programme Support Administrator jennifer.mcateer@hee.nhs.uk

 

Greater Manchester and Lancashire

Ruth Gottstein TPD ST1 - 3 ruth.gottstein@cmft.nhs.uk
Guy Makin TPD ST4 – 8 guy.makin@cmft.nhs.uk
Sunil Bagewadi Regional Lead sunil.bagewadi@pat.nhs.uk
Nitin Panwar Regional Lead, Deputy drn_panwar@yahoo.co.uk
Ranganath Ranganna Regional Lead, Deputy ranganath.ranganna@mft.nhs.uk
Alison Jobling LTFT and Careers Lead alison.jobling@stockport.nhs.uk
Michele Turner-Holmes Programme Support Administrator michele.turner-holmes@hee.nhs.uk

 

Training Programme

Cheshire and Mersey rotation includes the following:

  • Alder Hey Children’s Hospital
  • Arrowe Park Hospital
  • Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust
  • Glan Clwyd Hospital
  • Liverpool Women’s Hospital
  • Macclesfield Hospital
  • Mid-Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ormskirk Hospital
  • Warrington & Halton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Whiston Hospital
  • Wrexham Maelor Hospital

 

STEP Teaching Mersey

All STEP Teaching takes place at Alder Hey Childrens Hospital in the Education Centre. The time varies each week and Lindsay Brunt will email trainees 1 week prior to the teaching event.

The administrator/ secretary responsible for the STEP programme is Jen Bowles-Smith BA: jen.bowles-smith@alderhey.nhs.uk

The responsible clinicians for the different STEP programmes in the Mersey region are as follows:

STEP 1 Teaching: Jessica MacWilliams (jessmac196@gmail.com) and Emily Hoyle (Hoyleemily@hotmail.com)

STEP 2 Teaching: Ian Mulvey (ian.mulvey@btinternet.com) and Alex Cleator (acleator@doctors.org.uk)

STEP 3 Teaching: Solabomi Alalade (sbommie@yahoo.com)

Clinical Teaching: Matthew Roberts (mr94017@gmail.com), Kate McFarlane (katemacfarlane87@gmail.com)

Clinical Mock Examination: Thomas Whitby (thomaswhitby86@gmail.com), Ian Mulvey (ian.mulvey@btinternet.com), Matthew Roberts (mr94017@gmail.com) and Kate McFarlane (katemcfarlane87@gmail.com)

 

STEP teaching dates 2018

STEP 1
4th Thurs/Tues of each month
(excluding December)
STEP 2
3rd Tues/Thurs of each month
 
STEP 3
6 sessions per year
(All day sessions from May)
No September session 20th September 2018 (Thurs)
Large Will LT
13th September 2018 (Thurs)
23rd October 2018 (Tuesday)
Institute Training No 3
16th October 2018 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
22nd November 2018 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
15th November 2018 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
8th November 2018 (Thurs)
24th January 2019 (Thurs)
Small Jean LT
18th December 2018 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
26th February 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
15th January 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
8th January 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
28th March 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
21st February 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
23rd April 2019(Tues)
Small Jean LT 
19th March 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
23rd May 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
18th April 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
9th  April 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
25th June 2019  (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
21st May 2019 (Tues)
Small Jean LT
7th May 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
25th July 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
20th June 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
27th August 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
16th July 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
2nd July 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
12th September 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
15th August 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
22nd October 2019 (Tuesday)
Institute Training No 3
17th September 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
3th September 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
28th November 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
17th October 2019 (Thurs)
Institute Training No 3
19th November 2019 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
5th November 2018 (Tues)
Institute Training No 3
19th December 2019 (Thurs)

 

Greater Manchester and Lancashire

Please click here for information regarding the Greater Manchester and Lancashire programme

Please click here for maternity leave guidance, Northwestern only.

 

Paediatrics ARCP process

The Winter 2018/19 ARCP panels are due to take place on:

 

Mersey

Manchester

Assessment Panel

Tuesday 29th January 2019

 

Assessment Panel

Day 1 Thursday 14th February 2019

 

 

 

Day 2 Friday 15th February 2019

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feedback Panel

Wednesday 20th February 2019

 


Feedback Panel

Tuesday 5th March 2019

 

* Please note the ARCP terminology has recently changed:

Panel A will now be known as an ASSESSMENT PANEL

Panel B will now be known as a FEEDBACK PANEL

 

Trainees will be notified of the date of their ARCP via email and will be requested to complete an Enhanced Form R no earlier than 1 month and no later than 3 weeks prior to the Assessment panel, links for the Form R will be provided within the email. This is to ensure that the submission is as up to date as possible.

Trainees do not need to attend the Assessment panel but should keep the Feedback Panel dates free. If trainees are required to attend the Feedback panel they will be notified within 1 week of the Asssessment panel dates.

Further information regarding the ARCP process can be found at www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/policies-procedures

 

TRAINEE GUIDANCE AND DOCUMENTATION WHICH SHOULD BE READ AND ADHERED TO FOR ARCP.

Decision Aid:
Trainees MUST ensure they carefully read which are the requirements for ARCP.
Link: decision aid
Managing the eportfolio for ARCP:
Guidance on how you should store your evidence.
Link: Managing eportfolio
DOPs recording sheet:
Each trainee MUST complete and upload to eportfolio
Link: DOPs recording sheet
Absence recording sheet:
Each trainee MUST complete and upload to eportfolio
Link: Absence recording sheet
CCT calculator:
Each trainee Must complete and submit to the specialty administrator and upload to Library of eportfolio
Link: Completion of training date calculator | RCPCH
Entering training posts on eportfolio:
Guidance on how you enter your training posts onto eportfolio
Link: Entering training posts
Royal College of Paediatrics ARCP guidance Link: www.rcpch.ac.uk/education/training/assessment

 

If you have any queries regarding your ARCP please contact:

Mersey – Jennie McAteer: jennifer.mcateer@hee.nhs.uk

Northwestern – Michele Turner-Holmes: michele.turner-holmes@hee.nhs.uk