North West School of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

 

Welcome to Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Contacts:

 

 

Head of School

Dr Liz Haslett

Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist

Blackpool Teaching Hospitals FY3 8NR                         Email: dr.haslett@nhs.net

 

Deputy Associate Postgraduate Dean

Dr Ruth Gottstein                                                           Email: ruth.gottstein1@nhs.net

Training Programme Directors:

Deputy Head of School (including ATSM/SITM director)           Dr Rebekah Samangaya rebekah.samangaya@mft.nhs.uk

TPD – ST1-2 NW

Dr Rachel Owen 

rachel.owen@stockport.nhs.uk
 

 

TPD – ST1-2 Mersey

Dr Helen Bradshaw

helen.bradshaw1@lwh.nhs.uk

TPD – ST3-5 NW

Dr Andrea Pilkington

andrea.pilkington3@nhs.net

TPD – ST3-5 Mersey

Dr Nira Ramachandran

Nira.Ramachandran@MerseyWestLancs.nhs.uk

TPD – ST6-7 NW & Mersey

Dr Clare Mullan    

clare.mullan@mft.nhs.uk 

TPD – Community Sexual & Reproductive Health

Dr Liz Stephens

Elizabeth.Stephens@liverpoolft.nhs.uk 

TPD - Exam Support Dr Louise Howarth louise.howarth@mft.nhs.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Deanery Support:

Programme Support Manager

Sarah Mrozek-Jackson

england.obsgyn.nw@nhs.net

Programme Support Officer Jennifer Shaw england.obsgyn.nw@nhs.net

Programmes Support Administrator

Ashely Gallagher england.obsgyn.nw@nhs.net

 

 

 

 

 

Lead Employer:

St Helen’s & Knowsley

https://leademployer.sthk.nhs.uk/

lead.employer@sthk.nhs.uk

 

 

 

College Tutors:

Dr Rao Usha

Arrowe Park – Mersey

usharao@nhs.net

Dr Sunday Ajayi

Barrow – NW

sunday.ajayi@mbht.nhs.uk

Dr Sophia Goh

Blackpool – NW

s.goh@nhs.net

Dr Juthica Bardapure

Dr Bim Williams

Bolton – Salford – NW

 

Juthica.Bardapure@boltonft.nhs.uk;

Bim.Williams@boltonft.nhs.uk

Dr John Shanks

Burnley - NW

John.Shanks@elht.nhs.uk

Dr Lisa Canavan

Chester – Mersey

lisa.canavan1@nhs.net 

Dr Michael Smith

Dr Eva Myriokefalitaki

Christie – NW

Christie – NW (deputy)

mcgsmith@doctors.org.uk;

eva.myriokefalitaki@christie.nhs.uk;

Dr Amy Judson

Lancaster – NW

amy.s.judson@mbht.nhs.uk

Dr Emily Fairclough

Dr Ben Choo

Liverpool Women’s – Mersey

 

emily.fairclough1@lwh.nhs.uk;

ben.choo@lwh.nhs.uk 

Dr Shanti Pinto

Leighton – Mersey

shanthi.pinto@mcht.nhs.uk;

Dr Mazhar Chaudry

Macclesfield – Mersey

mazhar.chaudry1@nhs.net

Dr Tarun Ghosh

Nobles – Mersey

Tarun.Ghosh@nobles.dhss.gov.im

Dr Ritu Dalmia

Oldham – NW

Ritu.dalmia@pat.nhs.uk;

Dr Swapna Patankar

Pennine (Bury, NMGH, Oldham, Rochdale) – NW

swapna.patankar@pat.nhs.uk

Dr Syma Ahmed

Preston – NW

 syma.ahmed@lthtr.nhs.uk

Dr Emilie Lewis

Salford - NW

Emilie.lewis@srft.nhs.uk;

Dr Uma Karthikeyan

Southport – Mersey

uma.karthikeyan@nhs.net

Dr Rachel Owen

Stepping Hill – NW

Rachel.Owen@stockport.nhs.uk

Dr Patricia Seddon

Kathryn Parker (deputy)

St Mary’s – NW

patricia.seddon2@mft.nhs.uk

kathryn.parker@mft.nhs.uk

Dr Natalie Smilovici

Tameside – NW

nathalie.smilovici@tgh.nhs.uk

Dr Paul Adinkra

Warrington – Mersey

p.adinkra@nhs.net;

Dr Nidhi Srivastava

Whiston – Mersey

Nidhi.srivastava@sthk.nhs.uk

Dr Uzma Ghaffar

Wigan – NW

Uzma.Ghaffar@wwl.nhs.uk

Dr Louise Howarth

Dr Sreebala Sripada

Wythenshawe – NW

 

louise.howarth@mft.nhs.uk;

Sreebala.Sripada@nhs.scot

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

        

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

         

 

         

 

          

 

Further contacts:

 

Dr Tom Aust

Education Lead

 

taust@nhs.net;

Dr Zainab Aljawahiri

Eportfolio Champion

 

Zainab.Aljawahiri@mft.nhs.uk

Dr Nasira Misfar

Joint SuppoRTT Champion & LTFT Lead

East Lancs

Nasira.Misfar@elht.nhs.uk

Dr Syma Ahmed

Joint SuppoRTT Champion & LTFT Lead

Preston

syma.ahmed@lthtr.nhs.uk

Dr Ciara Carpenter               

Laparoscopic/hysteroscopic regional simulation coordinator

Southport & Ormskirk

ciara.carpenter@merseywestlancs.nhs.uk

Dr Zoe Boyes

Laparoscopic/hysteroscopic regional simulation coordinator

Whiston

 zoe.boyes@sthk.nhs.uk

Dr Mohamed Elsherbiny Laparoscopic/hysteroscopic regional simulation coordinator
East Lancs

mohamed.elsherbiny@elht.nhs.uk

Dr Kenn Lim

Laparoscopic/hysteroscopic regional simulation coordinator

Salford

kenn.lim2@nca.nhs.uk

Dr Mohamed Hagir

Laparoscopic/hysteroscopic regional simulation coordinator

Wythenshawe

 hmohamed@doctors.org.uk

Dr Uzma Ghaffar

Laparoscopic/hysteroscopic regional simulation coordinator

Wigan

Uzma.Ghaffar@wwl.nhs.uk

Dr Judith Kundodyiwa

MTI Champion

 

judithkundo@icloud.com

Dr Kirtana Vallabhaeni

PGDrs rep for Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

Mersey

kirtana.vallabhaneni@nhs.net

Dr Arathy Ramdas

PGDrs rep for Equality, Diversity & Inclusion

NW

arathy_ramdas@yahoo.com

Dr Helen Collier

Regional Ultrasound Co-ordinator

East lancs

helen.collier@elht.nhs.uk

Dr Karl McPherson

Regional Ultrasound Co-ordinator

Blackpool

karl.mcpherson4@nhs.net

Dr Martin Maher Regional Ultrasound Co-ordinator East Lancs martin.maher@elht.nhs.uk

Dr Natalie Macleod

Trainee Representative

Mersey

n.croghan@nhs.net

Dr Natalie Croghan

Trainee Representative

Mersey

n.croghan@nhs.net

Dr Ayooluwa Olateju

Trainee Representative

NW

ayooluwaolateju@gmail.com

Dr Suranjan Ghoshal    Trainer Representative Oldham suranjan.ghoshal@nca.nhs.uk
Dr Fatima Abu Amna  Trainer Representative Wigan fatima.abuamna@wwl.nhs.uk
Dr Lakshmi Sandu Aana    Trainer Representative Southport & Ormskirk Lakshmi.sanduaana@merseywestlancs.nhs.uk

Dr Andy Pickersgill

Workplace Behaviour Champion

NW

andy.pickersgill@mft.nhs.uk

Dr Devender Roberts

RCOG Representative

Liverpool Women’s

devender.roberts@lwh.nhs.uk;

Dr Dharani Hapangama

University Representative

Mersey

dharani@liverpool.ac.uk;

Dr Ed Johnstone

University Representative

NW

edward.johnstone@cmft.nhs.uk ;

Dr Andrew Drakeley 

Subspecilaity Representative

Mersey andrew.drakeley@lwh.nhs.uk

 

 

ATSM Preceptor’s:

Gynaecology ATSM

Preceptor – NW

Preceptor - Mersey

Benign abdominal Surgery: open and laparoscopic

Andy Pickersgill – Wythenshawe andy.pickersgill@mft.nhs.uk 

Kevin Thomas – Ormskirk  kevin.thomas@nhs.net

Urogynaecology and Vaginal Surgery

Eric Mutema – Blackpool eric.mutema@nhs.net

Lorraine Dinardo – Chester lorraine.dinardo@nhs.net

Subfertility and Reproductive Health

Raj Mathur - St Mary's

Raj.Mathur@mft.nhs.uk

Richard Russell – Liverpool Women’s  Richard.russell@lwh.nhs.uk 

Oncology

Nick Wood

nick.wood@lthtr.nhs.uk

Rob MacDonald – Liverpool Women’s robert.macdonald@lwh.nhs.uk

Acute Gynaecology & Early Pregnancy

Fiona Clarke

Fiona.Clarke@elht.nhs.uk

Kat Pavlidi

kat.pavlidi@lwh.nhs.uk 

Advanced Laparoscopy for the excision of benign disease

Tom Aust – Arrowe Park 

taust@nhs.net

Abortion Care

Ash Alam – Arrowe Park

malam1@nhs.net

Colposcopy

Nick Wood

nick.wood@lthtr.nhs.uk

Bridget DeCruze – Liverpool Women’s bridget.decruze@lwh.nhs.uk

Hysteroscopy

Hani Shuheibar

Hani.Shuheibar@mft.nhs.uk 

Vicky Cording

Vicky.cording@sthk.nhs.uk

Paediatric & Adolescent gynaecology

Cara Williams

cara.williams@lwh.nhs.uk

Sexual Health

Helen Ribbans

helen.ribbans@elht.nhs.uk

Menopause

Anan Buolos

anan.boulos@nca.nhs.uk

Vulval Disease

Ursula Winters – St Mary’s

ursula.winters@mft.nhs.uk

Helen Bradshaw - Liverpool Womens

helen.bradshaw1@lwh.nhs.uk

 

 

Obstetric ATSM

Preceptor – NW

Preceptor - Mersey

High Risk Pregnancy

Bindu Singhania – St Mary’s bindu.singhania@mft.nhs.uk

Karen McIntyre – Leighton karen.mcintyre@mcht.nhs.uk

Fetal Medicine

Koon Chan – St Mary’s 

koon.chan@mft.nhs.uk

Devender Roberts – Liverpool Women’s

Devender.roberts@lwh.nhs.uk 

Labour Ward Lead

Sam Bonner – St Mary’s

Samantha.bonner@mft.nhs.uk

Libby Shaw – Arrowe Park

libbyshaw@nhs.net

Obstetric Medicine

Andrea Pilkington – Wythenshawe andrea.pilkington1@mft.nhs.uk

Mark Clement Jones – Liverpool Women’s 

mark.clement-jones@lwh.nhs.uk

Medical Education

Judith Kundodyiwa

judith.kundodyiwa@boltonft.nhs.uk

Advanced Labour Ward Practice

Sam Bonner – St Mary’s

Samantha.bonner@mft.nhs.uk

Kate Alldred – Liverpool Women’s

kate.alldred@lwh.nhs.uk

Tr

Key Links

Royal College of Obstetrcians & Gynaecologists - www.rcog.org.uk/

Curriculum - www.rcog.org.uk/en/careers-training/specialty-training-curriculum/

National Recruitment - specialtytraining.hee.nhs.uk/

Local Recruitment - www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/content/welcome-recruitment-north-western-deanery

GMC - www.gmc-uk.org/

https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supported-return-to-training

https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/supportt-contacts

 

Trust Information for PG Doctors

North West and Mersey

 

Arrowe Park                          Trust information Arrowe Park  
Blackpool  

Trust Information Blackpool

 
Bolton   Trust Information Bolton and Salford  
Barrow   Trust Information Barrow  
Burnley   Trust Information Burnley  
Chester   Trust Information Chester  
Christie   Trust Information Christie  
East Lancashire   Trust Information East Lancs  
Leighton   Trust Information Leighton
Macclesfield   Trust Information Macclesfield  
NMGH   Trust Information NMGH  
Oldham  

Trust Information Oldham

 
Royal Lancaster   Trust Information Royal Lancaster  
Royal Preston    Trust Information Preston  
Salford   Trust Information Salford  
St Marys   Trust Information St Marys  
Southport and Ormskirk   Trust Information Southport and Ormskirk  
Stepping Hill   Trust Information Stepping HIll  
Tameside   Trust Information Tameside  
Warrington   Trust Information Warrington  
Whiston    Trust Information Whiston  
Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh   Trust Information Wigan  
Wythenshawe   Trust Information Wythenshawe  

TEACHING

ST1-2 

ST1-2 Teaching 2023/24

ST3-5

ST3-5 Teaching 2023/24

ST6-7

 ST6-7 Teaching 23/24

 

Attendance for ST3- 7 

  1. Trainees are not expected to attend regional teaching if on call, on nights, on rest days, on a non -working day if LTFT, on annual leave or sick leave. However they are expected to send their apologies. ST6-7 teaching apologies to Sally Hodgson, Education Administrator at Blackpool sally.hodgson4@nhs.net. ST3-5 teaching apologies to Sharon Clorley, Medical secretary at Wythenshawe hospital sharon.clorley@mft.nhs.uk

 

  1. If you are LTFT and teaching falls on a day you would not normally work you are welcome to attend and take a different day as non-working however you will need to arrange this with your unit.

 

  1. Teaching attendance of 66% of sessions is expected. Obviously this is pro rata for those who are LTFT. Your attendance should be documented for your ARCP on your ES report in Section 3 under ‘other requirements’ .This information will help us to facilitate trainee attendance as it will become clear if units are not releasing trainees for regional teaching. As an example an ST6 trainee works 80% LTFT and there are 7 regional teaching sessions being held August 2023- July 2024. His/her attendance would be expected to be 0.8 x 7x 0.66= between 3-4 sessions attended in the year. If you are able to attend more than 66% then great but 66% is the expectation.

 

4.Going forward most sessions will be face to face however those sessions being held virtually will be recorded and uploaded to the Advance Platform when possible. This will not be possible with virtual sessions provided by a private provider as they will not allow the session to be recorded understandably. If you do wish to watch a virtual session that you were not able to attend on the day then you can apply for study leave to do this.

 


ARCPs

The following is a guide on the ARCP process and requirements for PG Doctors.

ARCPs will be conducted virtually using Microsoft Teams.

This means the panels will review the eportfolios remotely prior to the ARCP date. Therefore, all PG Dr’s must ensure all evidence required, is uploaded at least 1-2 weeks prior to the ARCP date. 

* Please note that your Educational Supervisor report MUST be completed and uploaded 1-2 weeks prior to the ARCP

On the day of the ARCP the panel will review all evidence and reach a decision.  The PG Dr will be invited to join the meeting to receive and discuss the ARCP outcome as well as offer a 2-slide presentation. All PG Dr’s being assessed will be required to make themselves available.

 

Evidence required for the ARCP

For further information regarding your ARCP during the Covid 19 pandemic, please refer to the ARCP guidance on the Royal College of Obstetrics & Gynaecology website:  Link  

    A picture containing text, outdoor</p>
<p>Description automatically generated QR code for access

 

Form R/Self-Declaration Form:

This is mandatory.

Link to Form R: https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/form-r 

All fields must be completed.

  • You must reflect on any serious incidents or complaints that you have been involved in as well as note any compliments.
  • Your Form R will be reviewed by your Educational Supervisor as part of the Educational Supervisor Report.
  • Please complete Part A and B; only complete the COVID Declaration section if your training has been affected by COVID. Your Educational Supervisor will need to review and sign the form if you complete the COVID declaration.
  • Please upload completed Form R to the 'other evidence section of your e-portfolio at least 1 week prior to your ARCP. 
  • Please also email a copy of your Form R to: obsgyn.nw@hee.nhs.uk

 

Educational Supervisor’s Report.

 

Please complete your Educational Supervisor's report with your supervisor a minimum of 1 week before your ARCP.

This is to enable our ARCP panel member to review prior to the ARCP date.

 

CCT calculator:

 

  • Link to CCT calculator
  • Please complete a CCT calculator recording all your placements, dates, grades and WTE.
  • Once complete please upload to your Eportfolio in the ‘other evidence’ section marked CCT calculator (month/year of ARCP)
  • Please also email a copy of your Form R to: obsgyn.nw@hee.nhs.uk

 

Decision Aids:

 

PG Dr’s MUST ensure they carefully read requirements for ARCP and upload all required evidence by the required dates noted within your ARCP invite email.

 

The ARCP panel will assess evidence against the decision aid.

 

2 slide presentation

If you haven't been seen this year for an ARCP, you will need to prepare a 2-slide presentation covering your past year in training and future year.

Please upload this to your portfolio in the 'other evidence' section marked Presentation (Month/year of ARCP)
 

OOP

If you are OOPR/E/T, the panel would like to see a report from your current supervisor. This can be in the form of a letter, or a short report detailing your progress.

If you are OOPC please upload an update for the panel.

This needs to be uploaded to your portfolio in 'other evidence section'

 

 

ARCP DATES 2024

May 2024

15th&16th May

22nd & 23rd May

July 2024

3rd,4th &10th July

 

RETURN TO TRAINING 

SupporRTT