North West School of Emergency Medicine

 

Welcome to the HEE NW School of Emergency Medicine

 

 

The School of Emergency Medicine encompasses the northwest of England, from Lancaster in the north, the Wirral to the west and Crewe in the south. We are a single school with equal training opportunities across the region but the training rotations are divided into Mersey and North Western (Greater Manchester). The school is responsible for EM trainees in ST3 – ST6; trainees in CT1 & 2 are part of the ACCS Training Programme.

The Team:

Head of School:

Tamsin Dunn

Email: tamsin.dunn@mft.nhs.uk

           tamsin.dunn@hee.nhs.uk

Tel: 0161 291 6048

Manchester EM Training Programme Director ST3-6:

Richard Parris

Email: drrichardparris@gmail.com

Tel: 01204 390394

Mersey EM Training Programme Director ST3-6:

Richard Hughes

Email: richard.hughes@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Tel: 0151 529 2529

EM Leaders Programme Name Email
Regional Quality Improvement Project Lead Neill Hughes Neill.hughes@srft.nhs.uk
Regional Simulation Lead Annemarie Brown Annemarie.Brown@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Mersey Leadership Lead Tom Wiles Tom.Wiles@liverpoolft.nhs.uk
Greater Manchester Leadership Lead Richard Parris drrichardparris@virginmedia.com

 

 

 

 

 

Return To Training Champion for School of EM:

Catherine Jackson, catherine.jackson@mft.nhs.uk

 

         Trust Speciality Training Leads for Emergency Medicine

Name

Trust / Role

Email

Ahmad, Seif

Leighton

Seif.Ahmad@mcht.nhs.uk

Bhattacharyya, Sanjoy

Royal Blackburn Hospital

sanjoy.bhattacharyya@elht.nhs.uk

Brown, Ann Marie

Royal Liverpool Hospital

Annemarie.Brown@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Brock, Caroline

Royal Lancaster

drcazz@gmail.com

Bartram, Tom

Macclesfield

thomas.bartram@nhs.net

Hughes, Neill

Salford Royal

Neill.hughes@srft.nhs.uk;

Maryanji, Nina

Aintree Hospital

Nina.Maryanji@liverpoolft.nhs.uk

Stibbards, Sarah

Alder Hey Hospital

Sarah.Stibbards@alderhey.nhs.uk

Kidner, Nigel

Royal Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Mr.Kidner@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk

Gili, Nick

Royal Oldham

nicholas.gili@pat.nhs.uk

Godfrey, Joey

MRI

Joseph.Godfrey@mft.nhs.uk

Wislon, Nicola RMCH Nicola.Wilson@mft.nhs.uk

Dus, Suvak

Stepping Hill

souvik.das@stockport.nhs.uk

Richardson, Sally

Warrington Hospital

Sally.Richardson@whh.nhs.uk

Langston, Sarah

Whiston Hospital

Sarah.Langston@sthk.nhs.uk

Snow, David

Southport and Ormskirk

dsnow@nhs.net

Tabone, Dianne

Royal Preston

Dianne.Tabone@lthtr.nhs.uk

Jackson, Catherine

Wythenshawe

catherine.jackson@mft.nhs.uk

Williams, Cath

Royal Bolton Hospital

catherine.williams@boltonft.nhs.uk

Mittal, Rajnish

Chester

rajnish.mittal@nhs.net

Keshavamurthy, Santhosh

Arrowe Park

skeshavamurthy@nhs.net

 

The Support Team:

Natalie Dawson: - Programme Support Manager

Lindsey Robinson: - Programme Support Co-ordinator, ACCS & Emergency Medicine

Sally Rylands: - Programme Support Administrator

The Support Team email address:- emedicine.nw@hee.nhs.uk

The School aims to provide easily contactable and approachable leads who will respond to your queries. Virtually all correspondence from the school will be via e-mail, so it is essential that you provide us with an up-to-date e-mail account that is checked regularly.

 

School Structure:

The Associate Dean, Head of School, TPDs for EM and ACCS, and the support team meet twice a year for the school executive board meeting where the strategic plans are discussed, policies are agreed and the plans for the year ahead are agreed.

 

Specialty Training Committee:

There are 2 STCs, annually. These committees consist of the Head of School, the EM TPD's, the Trust Specialty Training Lead (TSTL) from each training site, sub specialty programme leads and the trainee representatives. The STC meets twice yearly to discuss and disseminate the School’s strategic and educational programme.

 

Return to work information can be found in the attached documents

 

Training Sites, Training Rotation information, TSTLs Information and Lead Employer Information can be viewed in PDF documents attached.

 

LESS THAN FULL TIME PILOT 

Applications are now open for the Less Than Full Time (LTFT) Pilot.  Please refer to the attachment above titled Opportunities for EM LTFT Project_Guidance_171219 FINAL.pdf 

 

Applications are via the LTFT Team.  Please note Category 3 on your eligibility form which can be located at the following link:  https://www.nwpgmd.nhs.uk/content/less-full-time-training

Please note, the cut-off date for trainees to submit an eligibility request is 23.02.20