North West School of Public Health - Training Locations


This page describes the current list of training teams and organisations that have GMC approval as training locations. They have all given organisational commitment to providing a quality training environment, and all have one or more experienced educational supervisors, who have their training responsibilities acknowledged in their job plans.

Trainees are allocated to one of the 3 ‘zones’ for the duration of their training: Cheshire and Merseyside, Greater Manchester, or Cumbria and Lancashire.

Please click on the links below to access information on training locations.

Cheshire and Merseyside

Training Location

Lead Trainer

Cheshire East Council

Matt Tyrer

Cheshire West and Chester Council

Helen Bromley

Halton Borough Council

Julia Rosser

Knowsley Council

Chris McBrien

Liverpool City Council

Emer Coffey

UKHSA: Cheshire and Merseyside Health Protection Team

Wicki Dardamissus


Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council


St Helens Council

Ruth DuPlessis

Warrington Borough Council

Thara Raj

Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council


St Helens Council

Ruth DuPlessis

Warrington Borough Council

Thara Raj

Wirral Council

Elspeth Anwar



Cumbria and Lancashire

Training Location

Lead Trainer

Westmorland and Furness Matt Saunders 
Cumberland  Carol Stewart

Lancashire County Council

Sakthi Karunanithi

Blackpool Council

Judith Mills

Blackburn with Darwen Council

Laura Wharton
Blackpool Teaching Hospital Trust Heather Catt
North Cumbria University Hospital Trust Leslie Jones

UKHSA: Cumbria and Lancashire Health Protection Team

Janey Otunnu-Kenyon



Greater Manchester

Training Location

Lead Trainer

Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council

 Lynn Donkin

Bury Council  Steven Senior
Manchester City Council

Barry Gillespie

Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council

Charlotte Stevenson

UKHSA: Greater Manchester Health Protection Team

Kristina Poole

Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council

Kuiama Thompson

Salford City Council

Muna Abel Aziz

Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council

Jennifer Connolly

Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council

James Mallion

Trafford Metropolitan Borough Council

Helen Gollins

Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

Kate Arden 

North Manchester General Hospital Rachel Isba
Northern Care Alliance Alistair Craig


North West Training Locations

University of Liverpool

Ben Barr

Champs Public Health Collaborative

Fiona Reynolds

Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Mary Lyons

NHS England and NHS Improvement North West Regional Healthcare Public Health Charlotte Simpson


Northwest Health and Wellbeing regional Team

Fiona Reynolds

Lancaster University

Heather Brown

Edge Hill University

Paola Dey

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)

Judith Richardson

University of Manchester Paula Whittaker
Potentail Placements  Agreement with external ES required. Disucss with TPD before nominating
NWAS Chris Grant
Violence Reduction Unit